Leadership & Staff

Dedicated To San Antonio’s Success

SACADA’s leadership and staff are committed to providing top-quality prevention resources, services and education. They bring to bear more than 150 years of combined experience to keep San Antonio healthy and productive.



Abigail Moore

Chief Executive Officer


Abigail Moore is an experienced nonprofit professional with more than 10 years leading San Antonio healthcare nonprofits. She served as a program coordinator at the Good Samaritan Center and joined SACADA in August 2005. Under Abigail’s leadership, SACADA has served more than 350,000 clients, delivered 5,280 classes and raised $6.5M in grant funding. She holds a Bachelor’s of Science in Human Development Family Studies with a Minor in Addiction from Texas Tech University and a Masters in Community Counseling from the University of Texas San Antonio.


Lisa Juarez

Chief Operating Officer


Lisa Juarez has been with the San Antonio Council on Alcohol and Drug Awareness for close to six years and brings with her over 10 years of experience in governmental accounting. She has a great passion for her work and holds her head up high with regard to SACADA’s mission, growth and the awesome team she works with. She holds a Bachelor’s in Accounting and a Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Texas San Antonio.

Gyna Juarez 2019

Gyna Juarez

Prevention Resource Center (PRC 8) Senior Director


Gyna Juarez, MPA, ACPS, ICPS, is an Advanced Certified Prevention Specialist (ACPS) and has been in the substance use/misuse prevention field since 2003. After graduating from Texas A&M University, Gyna worked with the Brazos Valley Council on Alcohol and Substance Abuse (BVCASA) with the Prevention Resource Center (PRC) Region 7. In 2004, she moved to San Antonio, where she accepted a position with San Antonio Council on Alcohol and Drug Awareness (SACADA) and currently directs the PRC Region 8 and Education programs. She is a certified trainer of the SAMSHA Substance Abuse Prevention Skills Training (SAPST) and Ethics in Prevention course and has been providing trainings in Texas statewide since 2011.  In Fall 2017, Gyna became part of the San Antonio College Human Services Program team as a Part-Time Adjunct Faculty teaching DAAC 2306 -Substance Abuse Prevention I and DAAC 2353 -Substance Abuse Prevention II during the Fall and Spring Flex Semesters.


Melissa Scott

Youth Prevention Director


Melissa Scott has been in the field of substance abuse prevention since 2001. She began as a Prevention Specialist for the Alcohol & Drug Abuse Council of Deep East Texas/Region 5 Prevention Resource Center (PRC) and was later promoted to Prevention Coordinator in 2007. After relocating to San Antonio in 2013, Melissa began working with SACADA as a Prevention Specialist and was later promoted to Prevention Services Associate Director in August 2014. She has a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degree from Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches and is an Advanced Certified Prevention Specialist (ACPS).

Andrea Salazar

Andrea Salazar

Youth Prevention Associate Director


Andrea Salazar began working in the substance abuse prevention field since 2001. She graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Illinois State University, in Normal Illinois in 1998. Andrea moved to San Antonio in 2007 and began working with the Prevention Resource Center- Region 8 as the Community Outreach Specialist. She became the Development Coordinator in May 2014 and was very involved with the organization’s social media. Since 2016, she has been the Youth Prevention Associate Director for the Hill Country Region. She works closely with local school districts, coalitions and other community agencies by providing presentations on drugs of concern in and around South Texas. Andrea has a passion for prevention; she loves to give parents the knowledge and skills they need to help their children make healthy choices. Andrea is an Advanced Certified Prevention Specialist.

Vickie B Adams-resized

Vickie B. Adams

Community Coalition Director, Circles of San Antonio Coalition


Vickie Adams graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Corpus Christi State University. Vickie started her career in Substance Abuse Prevention with the 36th Judicial District Juvenile Probation Unit in 1998 and relocated to central Texas in 2006. Vickie has been with SACADA since 2007. Vickie is an Advanced Certified Prevention Specialist (ACPS).


Diana Carreon

Addiction and Recovery Director


Diana Carreon has been with the San Antonio Council on Alcohol and Drug Awareness since September 2015. She graduated with a Master’s Degree in Criminal Justice from Texas A&M International University in 2012 and worked with the university for 7 years. Since then she has worked in different programs with the council and is now the Adult Services Director for Project AMOR (Alamo Mentoring Oriented Recovery).


Velda Schalk

Development Director


Velda Robles Schalk began as the Development Director for the San Antonio Council on Alcohol and Drug Awareness in 2016. Velda attended Texas Tech University. She began her career in fundraising, grant writing, and event planning in 2003 at St. James Episcopal School in Corpus Christi and was there for 10 years before moving to Louisville, Kentucky.  She served as the Development Director for LifeSpring Health Systems/LifeSpring Foundation of Indiana for 2-1/2 years. She now oversees all aspects of development and marketing for SACADA.

Youth Prevention

Amy Alston, Youth Prevention Specialist, HYPE Coordinator, Team Lead
Elizabeth Davis, Youth Prevention Specialist
Joseph Ibarra, Youth Prevention Specialist, HYPE Coordinator
Dacari Lambert, Case Manager
Sandra Ramos, Youth Prevention Specialist
Tomas Reyes, Case Manager
Jennifer Reyna, Youth Prevention Specialist
Adorne Ruffin, Youth Prevention Specialist
Torrance Sephus, Youth Prevention Specialist, Team Lead
Denise Smith, Youth Prevention Specialist, Team Lead
Tammy Tran, Youth Prevention Specialist
Delma Thornton, Youth Prevention Specialist

Youth Prevention Hill Country

Adriana Jaramillo, Youth Prevention Specialist
Claire O’Brien, Youth Prevention Specialist
Aubrie Pankratz, Youth Prevention Specialist

Prevention Resource Center

Uriel Hernandez, Tobacco Specialist
Marcus Kavanaugh, Community Liaison
Teresa Stewart, Regional Evaluator


Beatrice Gutierrez, Bookkeeper
Georgette Reyes, Bookkeeper I
Gloria Solis, Human Resources & Administrative Assistant
Rose Suarez, Information Specialist


Kristel Gonzaba, Marketing Specialist

Community Coalition

Boyd Baxter, Circles of San Antonio Community Coalition Coordinator
Betsy Jones, Circles of San Antonio Community Coalition Coordinator
Vicki Thomas, Circles of San Antonio Community Coalition Coordinator


Recovery Support

Jose Martinez, Recovery Support Peer Specialist, Supervisor
Cynthia Alderete, Recovery Support Peer Specialist
Orlando Castillo, Recovery Advocate
Elizabeth Garcia, Recovery Support Peer Specialist
Leroy Garcia, Recovery Support Peer Specialist
Nevia Gonzalez, Recovery Advocate
Yosepa Scott, Recovery Support Peer Specialist
Donney Vanblaricum, Recovery Support Peer Specialist, Team Lead

Struggling With Addiction and Need Help? Click Here